Posted in Musings

Reflections on growing things

After writing about being a slug and taking another nap I decided I should be productive. I decided to tackle the flower bed out front. There is a rose bush buried beneath the mint and the bindweed.

Flower bed full of weeds

While pulling weeds, I kept having experiences that were perfectly timed on this beautiful Good Friday.

Two hours and a full brown bag full of weeds later, I decided to reflect on some learning.

    While mint is lovely and tastes good, it does not belong in a tiny flower bed.
    Roots should come with labels to help pretend gardeners know what they are pulling up so the roses bush doesn’t accidentally get excavated.
    Digging under the weeds sometimes brings pleasant surprises (photos and explanation below).
    Knockout roses are amazingly resilient, despite being neglected and choked!
    Pulling weeds that have roots throughout the whole bed made me think of Veggie Tales and Larry Boy and the Rumor Weed.
    Running out of umph part way through trimming the holly bushes reminded me that eating ice cream for brunch does not provide enough energy to do yard work on.
    Hamilton is a great soundtrack to pull weeds and chop bushes too, and I hope my neighbors enjoyed the show I provided with my singing and dancing while chopping.
    And best of all, I can now lay down for another nap and not feel guilty!
Tiny rosebuds grew, hiding under the weeds.
Calla lilies hiding under the mess! Sweet surprise!
Resilient roses!
It feels good to have a flower bed without weeds.

Cutting back bushes is not in my skill set.

Spending this time in the garden was beautiful time with the Father, even if I was singing Hamilton instead of Christian songs. He reminded me that He is always there, even when the negative things in our lives seem to take

over and hide. He helps the smallest seeds bloom, providing spots of beauty when they are needed.

We are so very blessed! Maybe with the peace that this has provided I can start on my dissertation prospectus with a relaxed and clear mind.

After my nap!

  • Author:

    Lifelong learner, sharer of knowledge (whether you want to learn it or not)

    Leave a comment